Candidate Login
Forgot password



What is IELTS?

IELTS, the International English Language Testing System, is the world's proven English test that measures ability to communicate in English across all four language skills - listening, reading, writing and speaking.

More than 1.4 million candidates take the test each year to start their journeys in international education and employment. The test is available in 120 countries and recognised by more than 6,000 education institutions, government agencies and professional organisations.

More about IELTS' global recognition

Test Administrator

The British Council, IDP Education Australia and University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations (Cambridge ESOL) jointly manage IELTS.

Test Modules

The IELTS test has four parts - Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. All candidates take the same Listening and Speaking modules. There is a choice of Reading and Writing modules - Academic or General Training.

Choose the Academic Module if you are planning to undertake higher education study, or choose the General Training Module if you are considering non-academic training, work experience or require IELTS for immigration purposes.

Test Format

Test Result

There is no pass or fail mark for IELTS. Scores are given on an Overall Band Score of one to nine.

More about IELTS Band Score


IELTS is jointly owned by British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge English Language Assessment.

© British Council